Chairman's Awards

Information about what the Chairman's Awards are, what the Commendation Awards are and how to nominate someone for the awards.

What are the Chairman’s Awards?

Every year, the Chairman’s Awards are given to recognise people, businesses or organisations within the East Riding of Yorkshire who have gone above and beyond to serve the community and who have made a significant difference to enhancing their local community and the social well being of the area.

Anyone can make a nomination however, nominees must have a distinctive connection or link with the East Riding of Yorkshire, be based or have a base within the East Riding of Yorkshire and projects must operate on a non-commercial basis.

Watch the virtual Chairman's Awards Presentation 2020 on the council's YouTube channel and view the official Chairman's Award Booklet with details of the nominees.

Chairman’s Award categories

There are four Chairman’s Awards each with two categories:

  • Built Heritage – celebrates private homes, new builds or business premises that have been sympathetically renovated and/or restored (single, new dwellings, conversions and minor works category and commercial development and major schemes category)
  • Business – recognises businesses that have helped the economy flourish (businesses with under 50 employees category and businesses with over 51 employees category)
  • Community – recognises groups and individuals for the contribution to improving lives of those living in the East Riding with a non-commercial project (group category and individual category)
  • Sport – celebrates local talent and commitment to sports clubs and activities (outstanding team category and talented performer category).

Find out more on how to nominate someone for an award.

Past winners of the Chairman's Awards

A list of past winners of the Chairman's Awards can be viewed below:

Past winners - Built Heritage (pdf 203kb)

Past winners - Business (pdf 296kb)

Past winners - Community (pdf 201kb)

Past winners - Sport (pdf 194kb)

How do I nominate someone for a Chairman's Award?

To nominate someone for a Chairman's Award, you must complete an official nomination form and send this, along with supporting papers, to the civic office or email them to

Nominations close on 31 January each year.

Please note:

Due to a technical error, the online version of the Business Awards submission has a different set of questions and emphasis to the downloadable version.

We appreciate that businesses may have worked on one or other version so in order to ensure an equitable outcome, we have decided to have 2 business categories for the 2024 Chairman's awards to reflect this. The first will be our standard Business award based on the online application and the second will be our Community Business award based on the downloadable application.

Please be assured that all applications already submitted will be entered into the appropriate category and would ask that any business who has not yet submitted continues to use the application they have been working on.

To make a nomination complete a nomination form online:

Nominate someone for a Chairman's award online

or download and complete the relevant nomination form below:

Built Heritage Award Nomination Form (word 341kb)

Business Award Nomination Form (word 327kb)

Community Award Nomination Form (word 307kb)

Sports Award Nomination Form (word 312kb)

Subscribe to East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Stay updated on the latest East Riding news

We use GovDelivery to send you emails, which is secure and you can choose to stop receiving emails at any time.

Find out more in our Privacy notice.

Subscribe to East Riding News