Final call for nominations for the 2019 East Riding of Yorkshire Council Chairman's Awards

Tue, 22 Jan 2019

Time is running out for residents to nominate people and businesses who enhance their communities for a Chairman’s Award.

The deadline for nominations is Thursday, 31 January and the awards celebrate the work done by individuals, businesses and projects that have helped improved the East Riding over the last year.

Those who are shortlisted will be invited to attend the awards ceremony held at Bridlington Spa in May, hosted by the chairman of East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Councillor Margaret Chadwick, in what will be her last engagement before she ends her year in office.

There are a number of categories which people can be nominated in:

There are four award categories:

• community – recognises groups and individuals for the contribution to improving lives of those living in the East Riding with a non-commercial project.

• built heritage – celebrates private homes, new builds or business premises that have been sympathetically renovated and/or restored

• business – recognises businesses that have helped the economy flourish

• sport – celebrates local talent and commitment to sports clubs and activities.

Nominees can only be entered for one category and a previous award winner cannot be nominated in the same category for a period of three years but can be entered for another.

Councillor Chadwick said: “There are many people in our communities who go above and beyond to make the area they live a better place to be.

“Many people do this not for recognition but because they want to and I would encourage people to look around their communities to see if there is someone, or a group or business, that have gone above and beyond to make the area a better place to be.”

For more information or to submit a nomination, go to www.eastriding.gov.uk/chairmansawards or email chairmans.awards@eastriding.gov.uk or contact Sarah Asquith, civic officer at East Riding of Yorkshire Council on (01482) 393260.

The closing date for nominations is Thursday, 31 January, 2018.